Faculty - 2023

17th Annual UCSF Spine Symposium
Date: June 16 - 17, 2023
Course#: MOR23003

Course Directors

Sigurd Berven, MD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery;
Chief of Orthopaedic Spine Service

Praveen Mummaneni, MD
Professor and Vice Chair of Neurological Surgery;
Director, UCSF Spine Center

Conor O’Neill, MD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Special Guest Faculty

Isador Lieberman, MD, MBA, FRCSC
Orthopedic Spine Surgery
Scoliosis and Spine Tumors
Texas Back Institute Leaders in Spine Care
Plano, TX

Luis M. Tumialán, MD
Neurosurgeon, Spine Surgery
Barrow Neurological Institute
Scottsdale, AZ

Thomas E. Dreisinger, PhD
Director of Research and Development
Dynamic Back & Neck Therapy
Troy, MI


Course Faculty

(University of California, San Francisco unless indicated)

Christopher R. Abrecht, MD
Assistant Professor of Anesthesia;
Director, Chronic Pain Service

Tarun Arora, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurological Surgery

Jeannie F. Bailey, PhD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery

Stephen Baxter, PT, MSc, DPT
Assistant Clinical Professor

Julie Cassata, NP
Nurse Practioner

Aaron Clark, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Neurological Surgery

Mario De Pinto, MD

Sibel Deviren, MD
Professor, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery  

Vedat Deviren, MD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery  

Anthony DiGiorgio, DO, MHA
Assistant Professor of Neurological Surgery

Robert Gamburd, MD
Associate Professor

David Gendelberg, MD
Assistant Professor, Spine

Melanie M. Henry, MD, MPH
Anesthesiologist, Pain Medicine Specialist

Line Jacques, MD
Professor of Neurological Surgery,
John Adams Endowed Professorship;
Director of Peripheral Nerve and Pain Surgery

Ninad Karandikar, MD
Clinical Professor, Rehabilitation Spine

Phillip Kissel, MD, FACS
Clinical Professor Department of Neurological Surgery, UCSF
Director of Neurological Surgery,
Sierra Vista Regional Medical Center, San Luis Obispo, CA   

Sun Ik Lee, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurosurgery

Arthur Long, PT, DPT, OCS
Physical Therapist

Jeffrey C. Lotz, PhD
Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery

Anthony J. Matan, MD
Orthopaedic Spine Surgeon
Kaiser San Jose Medical Center

Lionel N. Metz, MD
Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Heidi Reetz, MD
Assistant Professor, Anesthesia

Leslie Robinson, MD
HS Clinical Instructor, Neurological Surgery

Candita Rodriguez, NP
Department of Neurological Surgery

Aenor J Sawyer, MD, MS
Chief Health Innovation Officer,
Translational Research Institute for Space Health
Director, UC Space Health
Director, UCSF Skeletal Health
Co-Director, Center for Advanced 3D+ Technologies
Asst Clin Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery, UCSF

Irene Say, MD
Assistant Professor, Neurological Surgery

Prasad Shirvalkar, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Anesthesia

Paul J. Slosar, MD
Chief Medical Officer Episode Solutions
Nashville, TN

Lyndly Tamura, MD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery

Lee Tan, MD
Assistant Professor of Neurological Surgery

Bobby Tay, MD
Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Sara Temple, PT, DPT, OCS
Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy

Alekos Theologis, MD
Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Dustin Tom, DPT
Physical Therapist

Peter I-Kung Wu, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Patricia Zheng, MD
Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery